- advertisement -

Animas or Mini Med

Discussion in 'Insulin Pumps' started by Shelly's Mom, May 12, 2006.

1. Shelly's Mom

Shelly's Mom New Member

Hi,

I'm new to this portion of the site. My daughter who is 19 and away at college is finally ready for a pump. Since leaving home last year, she's had a real struggle managing her BG, with her results all over the map and her AIc at 9.5 during her last dr. visit.

Our insurance will cover either an animas or mini med pump. I've heard the Animas 1250 is easy to use -- what exactly does that mean? What about mini-med?

She needs something that's easy to use. Any advice would be very much appreciated.:)

2. faithe113001

faithe113001 Approved members

I'm 16 and have been on the Minimed Paradigm for 3 1/2 years and love it. It's very easy to use, easy to change your programming around. Are there any specifics that she's looking for? I would check out both companies websites, I know www.minimed.com has a lot of great info about their pumps, specific things. Then check out www.animascorp.com also and see which one you like better. Good luck!

3. Shelly's Mom

Shelly's Mom New Member

Was it hard to learn how to use when you first started using it? Are you able to make insulin adjustment, sensitivity calculations, carb calcs, easily?

4. Ben'sMommy

Ben'sMommy Approved members

My son Ben is 2 and a half years old and has been pumping since he was 14 months old.
    He uses a Minmed Paradigm pump and has never had a problem. It is a great pump, very easy to use and small.
    At the beginning learning about the pump is inensive but not hard. It just takes time and practice.
    It is absolutely worth the effort and will drastically improve your daughters life and BG's.
    Best of luck.

5. faithe113001

faithe113001 Approved members

No, it was not hard to use at all when I first started, it was easy to learn. After you get used the the setup it's great. It's very easy to make adjustments to your basals and ratios.