- advertisement -

Advice needed: re: ADD medications

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by txmom, Jan 20, 2012.

1. txmom

txmom Approved members

A little background first.....

Son is 17 1/2, diagnosed T1D about 2 years ago.

Junior in HS, plays golf and ice hockey, hoping to play golf in college.

Grades: 6 a's, 2 B's.

Does NO homework!!!!!

I have been harping for about three years that the homework train is going to hit my son soon....so far it has not. He manages to get good grades while doing no homework and almost no reading.

The psychologist at one of the local hospitals used to babysit for me when son was young and knows him quite well. She has suggested that he may have an executive function disorder (in the ADD spectrum). Apparently it is not uncommon for kids with this issue to be diagnosed in college when they finally hit a wall and being smart not longer makes up for the lack of work.

As I start to focus on preparing him for college (teaching him to cook more, do his own laundry etc.) I am really aware of how much I still do for him that I did not do for my daughter at this age. Basically I am his personal secretary, keeping track of his "stuff" and nagging him to completion when things are critical.

However, on the golf course he is unbelievably focused and organized. Apparently it is not uncommon for kids with this issue to have one or two things they focus on while all other tasks are sidelined.

Since I am not looking for accommodation for him in college the psychologist recommends that we ask his doctor to prescribe some medication and see if makes a difference. She is not overly concerned that I get him tested and diagnosed if we are not looking for accommodation.

Last night my son asked if we could try some medication as he was really struggling to read a 30 page assignment. If he is willing I think the time may be right to see if them makes a difference for him.