- advertisement -

Adults with type 1 - Do you test overnight?

Discussion in 'Adults with Type 1' started by jilmarie, Nov 9, 2010.

  1. Blue

    Blue Approved members

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    I haven't read all the replies . . . but I've got an adult friend with Type 1 and she doesn't test herself at night. Her husband, on the other hand, can tell by how she is sleeping if she is high or low and will test her.
     
  2. Ronin1966

    Ronin1966 Approved members

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Hello Blue:

    <<Her husband, on the other hand, can tell by how she is sleeping if she is high or low

    Grrrrrrr, THAT makes me crazy (crazier?) ... my wife can tell before I do... grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr !!!!!!!
     
  3. Wendy12571

    Wendy12571 Approved members

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    476
    I don't test at night either. I do wear a dexcom, but don't always wake up with that one either.
    Wendy
     
  4. Miike

    Miike Approved members

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Test at night for 3 reasons.

    When I started pumping 10 years ago I had to set the alarm and check to see how my basil and boluses were working. I had a back injury and was taking prednisone. The highs from that medication was shocking and the boluses to correct a bit frightening so I would set the alarm to check. When I wake up in the middle of the night and feel a bit restless I check. When I can't sleep it is usually because of a low.
     
  5. Trev

    Trev Approved members

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    145
    Sometimes

    I think I do more then I would, if I didn't have 2 type 1 kids. If that makes any sense.:p
     
  6. sarahspins

    sarahspins Approved members

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,205
    Does that go along with the "since I'm already up" sentiment that most of us have if/when we test overnight :p
     
  7. mocha

    mocha Approved members

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    430
    I check if I can't sleep. When I can't sleep, or if I randomly wake up, it generally means something is out of wack. I'll check if I'm doing an overnight basal tweak as well, but that tends to take more effort. ;)
     
  8. Fairy Nurse

    Fairy Nurse New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Only when CGM indicates a high or low, then I'll test and treat. It wakes me up with it's alarm, so I don't feel I need to set one.
     

Share This Page

- advertisement -

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice