- advertisement -

When???

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by dshull, Oct 1, 2012.

1. dshull

dshull Approved members

Hello,

I am new to all of this - my 7 year old son was diagnosed in early August. I am still having a very hard time with this. I cry everyday and cannot shake the worries/sadness/confusion/anger. It is so upsetting to me that so many people around us do not seem to get this (or care to get it). This would include many relatives and friends who seem to think we should be grateful he's not dead and then move on with a happy smile. If I hear, "well, it could be worse...." one more time I might hit someone.

I have come to terms with giving shots and even with counting carbs. Those I have a handle on pretty well at this point. It's the worries I can't shake no matter how hard I try. Worries like:

- He will pass out somewhere and there will be no one there who knows how to help him.

- I will wake up in the morning and he will be dead because his sugars dropped too low and I slept through it.

- How many times am I supposed to check him at night?? Endo says none if I check before I go to bed and it's a "good" number. But then all the mothers I see online get up multiple times. I am a wreck without sleep and getting up every night is killing me. But then if I try to not get up, I can't sleep either because I am obsessively worried if he's alive or not. So either way, I am exhausted and can't think straight.