- advertisement -

what would you do if.... (school question)

Discussion in 'Parents Off Topic' started by momof2here, Aug 26, 2013.

1. momof2here

momof2here Approved members

What would you do if the new Chemistry teacher (fresh out of college) is confused by concepts in the book this early in the game and is teaching the concepts incorrectly by mixing up concepts and reinforcing incorrect answers given by the students during a class activity.

2. swellman

swellman Approved members

As a chemist I would have to have a conversation with said teacher.

3. momof2here

momof2here Approved members

Swellman... aargh.... I think you are right. I was thinking about having him take Chemistry via the internet. He wants to have a very solid background in chemistry and doesn't want to risk missing out on that. I know the teacher did not intentionally, incorrectly teach the class these concepts, so I just don't sense that this type of situation can easily correct itself.

4. Sarah Maddie's Mom

Sarah Maddie's Mom Approved members

and you are an experienced chemist? Is it that the teacher is wrong or that you don't like how said teacher interacted with your student?

5. swellman

swellman Approved members

I have to admit I'm a tad interested in what concepts you are referring to - chemistry is pretty cut and dry.

6. C6H12O6

C6H12O6 Approved members

I think you would have to explain more about the situation. What concepts in the book is the teacher confused by and what wrong answers is he reinforcing ?

If a student is wrong the teacher can't just dismiss the student as wrong. Part of good pedagogy is encouraging the student to work on getting the correct answer and acknowledging the parts of the answer that are on the right track.

Last edited: Aug 27, 2013
  7. Christopher

Christopher Approved members