- advertisement -

What to expect?

Discussion in 'Parents of Teens' started by THILL26, Nov 6, 2011.

1. THILL26

THILL26 Approved members

My son who is 16 was diagnosed 2 weeks ago with Type I diabetes. We go tomorrow to see the endocrinologist. Do they normally put you in the hospital to get your insulin going and to teach his dad and I and himself how to give insulin or can I just expect frequent doctor appts starting off? Im new at this so I really dont know what to expect at this stage.

2. jbmom1b2g

jbmom1b2g Approved members

when we were diagnosed we were sent home on insulin. After her #'s kept going low I called the pediatric hospital and they had us admitted. They did tell us they could do the classes without us being in the hospital but they werent for a few weeks so they had us admitted

3. Butterfly Betty

Butterfly Betty Approved members

Is he not on insulin now? Sophie was put in the hospital at diagnoses and they started her on her insulin. They taught us how to do the injections, had us speak with a nutrictionist, and a diabetes educator.

4. Kaylas mom

Kaylas mom Approved members

We were told with Kayla that it was type 1 two days before she started insulin. Her a1c was only 6.3 and we caught it early. We were admitted when we started. Noah was dx back in Jan and still hasn't started insulin.. his was caught even earlier. The endo told us that when he starts, we will do it at home.

5. THILL26

THILL26 Approved members

Thanks for the info. No, our family dr put him on a pill for sugar to do him until he sees the Endo tomorrow. His A1C was 9.4 and I have been having my father in law who is also a diabetic check his sugar on and off over the past two weeks and its running around 260 with the medication. When he as diagnosed on 10-26, his sugar at that time was 287. I assume they will start him on insulin but like I say, this is all new to me and I really dont know what to expect. Guess I will learn more tomorrow. Thanks again!

6. MamaC