- advertisement -

What is a Glucomon?

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by ccarrol4, Oct 15, 2008.

1. ccarrol4

ccarrol4 Approved members

I've heard people mention them, but I have no idea what they are...

2. PokesforLife

PokesforLife Approved members

I am with you! What is it? I am very new to everything Diabetes and this is a very new word for me!!

Can anyone help?

3. Mody_Jess_Pony

Mody_Jess_Pony Approved members

I think it's like a cell phone or something that inerfaces with a cell-o-phone

4. Anna-C.Momof3

Anna-C.Momof3 Approved members

I have heard that it is a meter that automatically sends the reading to the parents cell phone in a text message. There may be more to it, so hopefully others will chime in.

5. Noel

Noel Approved members

I am no expert but....

I believe that it is a device that plugs into an electrical outlet and then you plug a One Touch meter into the device. When your child tests with the One Touch meter the device automatically send the result of the BG test to a designated cell phone number. I believe that their could be another place that the numbers could be sent to (like a computer or something) but I am not exactly sure. There is no calling that needs to be done, it is done automatically.

It seems like it could be a wonderfully useful tool. Here is the website if you want to check it out.

http://mygluco.com/glucomonhowitworks

The man who owns this company is very nice and will give you tons of info...his name is Kevin. He posts here from time to time. If you e-mail him he will get back to you.

6. kevin@diabetech.net

kevin@diabetech.net Approved members

I guess we should make this a game and the person with the closest answer gets a prize ;)