- advertisement -

Type 2's and carb counting.

Discussion in 'Adults with Type 2' started by MrsBadshoe, Mar 7, 2013.

1. MrsBadshoe

MrsBadshoe Super Moderator

I started my first hospital nursing job and was given a sliding scale for insulin dosing I'm really hoping for just type 2's but it doesn't state that.....

My question is why don't type 2s just carb count and use Insulin sensitivity factors to correct and bring down high Blood sugars... I'm still starting to learn about type 2 and this was the first thing that I noticed was so different. Instead they just dose insulin based on BS on a sliding scale.

2. TheFormerLantusFiend

TheFormerLantusFiend Approved members

When you're in the hospital, lots of people are there who are not diabetic but who have high blood sugar just because they are really sick. It makes more sense to react to the high blood sugars than to anticipate that they would become high, especially because low blood sugar is not a good idea.

Outside the acute setting, of course carb counting makes better sense.

3. ChristineJ

ChristineJ Approved members

In my almost 20 years of nursing, I have observed that diabetes management and treatment protocols for Type 2, unfortunately, continue to be much less advanced than management of T1. Use of sliding scales instead of carb counting/I:C ratios is one example of that, in the acute care setting as well as out in the community. :(

Christine

4. jbmom1b2g

jbmom1b2g Approved members

I know when I was in the hospital after my surgery they had to give me insulin due to my BG being high. They didn't carb count they just dosed me on what my blood was. They even feed me pasta.

5. nanhsot

nanhsot Approved members