- advertisement -

Tslim training

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by RomeoEcho, Nov 20, 2013.

1. RomeoEcho

RomeoEcho Approved members

After waiting for the Animas Vibe for the past two years, I finally changed my mind and bought a tslim yesterday. They wanted to schedule "training." I've been pumping for ten years with multiple pumps and 2 cgms and have never had training by a pump rep. Is it worth it? If you've already been pumping, has anyone learned anything useful from a pump training or is it mostly painful review?

2. StacyMM

StacyMM Approved members

We've done pump training three times now and I've felt it was worth it each time, just to know that we were doing things right. The first time was full-blown training - terminology, expectations, everything. I think we were there several hours. The other two times was pump-specific. We learned how to use the features, filled the pump, did a site, etc. In and out in less than an hour. Everyone's different, but for us it was reassuring. Plus, we got lots of freebies, which I love :D Three clips in fun colors and a box of tubing in a different length. That alone made it worth it for us!

3. Mish

Mish Approved members

I've never done any pump training after our very first time.

As long as you can figure out setting up your pump, (which..after 10 years should be no issue) it seems like a total waste of time. I demo'd a t-slim last week and filled a reservoir and did set up. It was different than minimed, but certainly nothing I felt like we would have needed training to accomplish.

4. mamattorney

mamattorney Approved members

I doubt you need the training for the sake of actually operating the t:slim, but I would still schedule it just so that you can meet your area rep and have a real live person you could contact if problems arise.

I've had several exchanges with our rep, which did include free swag :), but we've also had exchanges regarding other things too.