advertisement

Trouble with !4 year old

Discussion in 'UK Teens' started by beachcaster@hotmail.com, Sep 23, 2011.

1. beachcaster@hotmail.com

beachcaster@hotmail.com New Member

Hi, i'm new to this and just wondered if there's anyone out there who can help? My son Daniel has had type 1 for nearly 4 years and is finding it very difficult to cope with at the moment, making him very depressed, which he shows in ANGER :mad:.He blames everyone for anything that has happened in the house whether big or small, but he mainly takes it out on his twin brother (who hasn't got diabetes). His temper is getting really out of control.
    His nurse is trying to get us help but as usual there's around a 6 months wait. Would love to hear from anybody else if there having similar problems.:confused:.
    Thanks Kerry.

2. kiwiliz

kiwiliz Approved members

Hi Kerry. You can understand your kid being angry about having to have injections,,,,, and everything else that goes along with that. On saying that - it doesn't help anyone when they take their anger out on everyone else. As Supernanny would say "that is unacceptable". You could have this problem whether it was diabetes - or whatever. They know how to push our buttons and also know our weaknesses. With diabetes it is very easy to justify them being upset - because it is a pain for them. We have to be firm, non emotional about their outbursts and treat bad behaviour exactly the same for all our children, diabetes or not.

If it is any comfort - they all try it on at one stage or another. How would you react if he wasn't doing his homework? That is a good starting point. Whatever you do - don't let him see you are getting wound up. If he moves from blaming you to having a go at his twin brother, separate them. If he is not getting a bite he will stop baiting. (Hopefully).

3. kiwiliz

kiwiliz Approved members