- advertisement -

T:Slim IOB question

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by Flutterby, May 6, 2014.

  1. Flutterby

    Flutterby Approved members

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    14,623
    We just started the t:slim tonight. I have her Insulin duration set at 3 hours. When I gave her a correction bolus it showed the correct IOB but the time duration showed 4 hours. I went back in to make sure I had it set correctly at 3 hours, but it's still showing 4 hours... Any idea why?
     
  2. kiwikid

    kiwikid Approved members

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,011
    I have no idea but could there be diff durations set at different times and you have to set them all up? You know like the default is 4 hours and you set up one profile and not the one you're using now? Like I have heard the t-slim has?
     
  3. Flutterby

    Flutterby Approved members

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    14,623
    I've only set up one profile so far...I checked that to make sure.
     
  4. Ali

    Ali Approved members

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    2,221
    I would call the 800 T Slim number. Sounds off to me.
     
  5. hawkeyegirl

    hawkeyegirl Approved members

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    13,157
    Kim, did you ever figure this out?
     
  6. Flutterby

    Flutterby Approved members

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    14,623
    It's now showing the right time durations of three hours. When I went into bolus history it looked like she double dosed. Two boluses are showing for 5.17u unit, one at 7.57pm and one at 7:59 pm. Oh what one says stnd complete and the other says standard...one must be the beginning of the bolus and the other the completion of the bolus?
     
  7. lmf1122

    lmf1122 Approved members

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    250
    Yes, the history menu is a little confusing, and repetitive.

    It reports that the bolus was started and then that it was completed, so you did not double dose...that's just the way it shows in the history.
     
  8. mmgirls

    mmgirls Approved members

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,030
    I wonder if it does that because it takes so long to bolus?
     
  9. hawkeyegirl

    hawkeyegirl Approved members

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    13,157
    I doubt it. I don't think it takes any longer than MM to deliver. I think it's just a quirk of the history function. It is confusing at first.
     
  10. mmgirls

    mmgirls Approved members

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,030

    Really, MM takes that long too? I thought it was painstakingly long for just a few units.

    I know some people have reported needing less insulin and I wonder if the slower delivery help with better absorption and less pooling?
     

Share This Page

- advertisement -

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice