- advertisement -

School supply vent

Discussion in 'Parents Off Topic' started by virgo39, Jul 19, 2012.

1. virgo39

virgo39 Approved members

Okay, I have a high school diploma, college degree, and post-graduate degree, which should qualify me to buy school supplies.

Just got back from the store trying to interpret the list of supplies required by DD's third/fourth grade multigrade classroom. We still don't have everything.

What I really love are the ALL CAP warnings to purchase certain named brand-name items because the teachers want that particular brand. It would be more meaningful if they did not misuse a number of brand names (e.g., kleenex, scotch tape, post-it notes).

AND NO TRAPPER KEEPERS!!! The warning was bold and all caps--made me think it must be some kind of gang-related school supply.

Last edited: Jul 20, 2012
  2. misscaitp

misscaitp Approved members

I would just get the cheapest brand of that item. To me it seems like your funding her classroom supplies, as I have never seen the need for scotch tape in a student supply list. And a sticky note is a sticky note, whether 3M made it or not.

It would be tempting to send an email asking "Is this for you, or my child?"

3. Beach bum

Beach bum Approved members

I can see where they say NO to certain items (those Trapper Keepers are a PIA, our school insisted on them last year and they were the bane of my existence!), but to ask for certain brands...I don't think so. In this economy get what you can afford. RoseArt is just as good as Crayola, Target wipes are just as good as Wet Ones etc.

OK here is my vent. 2 weeks after school starts the kids have nature camp. We paid 50% in May, will have to pay 50% in the first week of school. In addition to us having to buy school supplies, clothes, shoes we have to buy camp supplies too. And they insist on all kids having hiking boots and guess what...they don't even hike! Nothing like having to buy new shoes that they won't even wear after it.