- advertisement -

School issues

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by Lovemyboys, Jan 11, 2011.

1. Lovemyboys

Lovemyboys Approved members

I was just wondering if the nurses in the hospital have to verify an insulin dose to another nurse before giving it, maybe that should be done in school too. I know that most places only have one nurse, but the secretary can be trained to double check the dose.

(As a former school nurse, I would have gladly done this.)

2. TheTestingMom

TheTestingMom Approved members

When DS was on MDI our nurse double checked with someone else in the office.

3. valerie k

valerie k Approved members

every time my father was hospitalized, his insulin was never verified by another nurse. I often gave him his insulin when he was in the hospital, and when on the pump, family came and ran it for them, they didnt want to mess with it.

And when he was on an obscure drug, I even got to bring in his meds from home becouse the hospital couldnt get it in time. Almost unheard of.

4. Lovemyboys

Lovemyboys Approved members

Maybe it was just the hospital we were at, but it was their policy that the nurses has to verify all insulin given with another nurse. It was a policy that I really appreciated, especially being new to insulin and nervous about it.

5. lilwitte

lilwitte Approved members