- advertisement -

Question for a research project

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Mgirod, Nov 25, 2014.

1. Mgirod

Mgirod Approved members

Hey guys,
    So I'm doing a research project at school and I decided to do the comparison between Type 1 and Type 2 and I was wondering what you guys think about it? Do you think there should be a different thing distinguishing them other than 1 and 2? If so what would you call them and which would you keep the same? Do you know of anybody that is trying to get the names changed so people don't get the two confused? Any other opinions you have will be great as well! Please Help!! THANK YOU

2. BarbDwyer

BarbDwyer Approved members

My personal opinion is that continuing to educate people is as good a use of time and resources as changing the name. I'm not all that offended when people don't know anything about diabetes or confuse the two. (I reserve the right to change my mind - I'm very new to this world and I'm sure it gets old and tiresome.) It wasn't very long ago that I didn't know anything about it. There are tons of illnesses I still know nothing about :shrug: Changing a name is not going to result in people having a better understanding IMO.

My other kids have ADHD, Dyslexia, CAPD. I think I spend more time clearing up misinformation about those things than I do diabetes and they are more common. Those things get plenty of 'jokes' and judgments made about them as well and those boys can't help it or cure it or prevent it either. Diabetes doesn't corner the market on misinformation and callousness in the general population that does not understand it and a name change won't change that IMO (which I suspect is in the minority).

3. Snowflake

Snowflake Approved members