- advertisement -

Pump selection questions...

Discussion in 'Adults with Type 1' started by GChick, Nov 9, 2013.

Tags:
  1. GChick

GChick Approved members

Hi.

Not "really" a newbie here but I haven't been here for years upon years (new user name and everything).

Anyway, a lil backstory:
    -I have been type 1 for about 31 years (am 34 now).
    -Am female.
    -Have never used a pump.
    -Have no complications that I (or my doctor) know about
    -Have A1Cs which are generally not "horrible" but no longer "good" anymore either. (a little more than a decade ago, when I first switched to Lantus, I had an A1C of 5.9 and for a few years after it never went above 6.1... lets just say it hasn't been anywhere near that low for a number of years.)

I never had ANY interest in the pump until last year when I started to "think" about the possibility of maybe, possibly, one day considering one... but did nothing about it as I guess I just still wasn't quite ready to make the leap.

This year I have decided that I really do ~almost~ want one... but I'm not sure of the ins and outs and would like some input on preferences etc. Would prefer (though not mandatory) input from those who have actually used the devices I'm considering (or have friends/family members that have).

What I'm going to do is list devices with the main "pros" that I know about for "me" (dont think I know enough to list much in the way of a con) that I like about 'em from just the brochures I got from my docs office:

T:slim:
    Cool design with the closest I have seen to being "waterproof" (not really very waterproof, but seems MUCH more "water resistant" on its own than any of the others I will list).

Asante Snap:
    Looks to have the simplest set up and A LOT fewer steps from start to finish to add/prime/whatever insulin etc.

Paradigm "Revel" Minimed: (not really sure how to write the name)