- advertisement -

Ping "Pump is not primed, no delivery"

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by BittysMom, Jul 19, 2012.

  1. BittysMom

    BittysMom Approved members

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    870
    Why is this error message suddenly happening? Her last site/cartridge change was yesterday morning. What does this mean? Thanks.
     
  2. Amy C.

    Amy C. Approved members

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    5,560
    Could be the cap was loose -- it happens from time to time.
     
  3. Beach bum

    Beach bum Approved members

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,315
    Yes, double check that the battery cap is on securely. We had it happen yesterday. Turns out my daughter dropped hers on the floor and it loosened it just enough.

    Keep a record of it just in case it happens again. It's the one error message that doesn't get recorded into history.
     
  4. Caldercup

    Caldercup Approved members

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,008
    I agree--it's probably just a loose cap. (If, however, there are visible cracks near the battery cap and you've just had the pump in a pool, then check the battery chamber to see if it's corroded. This just happened to us!)

    A simple twist of the cap should resolve it if it just came loose.

    But, if it happens twice in fairly quick succession, put a call into Animas to register the error with their tracking system.

    If the pump needs to be replaced, I believe they need to see the error three times before they send out a replacement.
     
  5. GaPeach

    GaPeach Approved members

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,218
    Ditto - we just had a cracked case. But we kept getting a low battery warning.

    The 2 main things to check are loose battery cap or loose cartridge cap. Rewind cartridge, reload and reprime. If you keep having errors, call Animas.
     
  6. BittysMom

    BittysMom Approved members

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    870
    Thanks everybody. I redid everything and so far no more warnings. We're new enough to pumping that this stuff still freaks me out. :)
     
  7. Tigerlilly's mom

    Tigerlilly's mom Approved members

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,492
    It can also happen with extreme changes in temp...When I put my sons pump in the cooler at the beach, his pump always looses it's prime...also when he goes to the hockey rink, or goes outside during the winter...it also lost it's prime the other day when it was really hot out and he was outside.
     
  8. Mommy For Life

    Mommy For Life Approved members

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    548
    We had an occlusion error pump not primed message a few months ago. Was that what you had? Of course our pump error happened on a night DD was spending the night at my moms house. :eek: I could tell my mom was going to have a cow when she called to tell me something was up with the pump. Thankfully DD was super calm, she also kept grandma calm, and was able to walk through the necessary steps to reprime the pump. We've had only one other occlusion error since then, but I haven't called Animas since they were not back to back errors.

    Hope that is the last error message you get for a while...it is so nerve racking to see any error message on the pump....especially when you're a newbie pumper.
     
  9. BittysMom

    BittysMom Approved members

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    870
    There wasn't anything about an occlusion. So far no more messages. It's unnerving to think something is "off" with their medical devices!
     
  10. MomTo4Girls

    MomTo4Girls Approved members

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    We got that error within minutes of hooking up her pump for the first time today. Luckily the CDE was right there with us. We just disconnected, re-primed and reconnected. Haven't seen the error since :)
     
  11. ecs1516

    ecs1516 Approved members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    7,028
    We have had the pump not primed error when the tubing gets tugged hard and unseats the cartridge. We just unhook and then tighten the cap and prime out a few drops.
     
  12. Caldercup

    Caldercup Approved members

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,008
    Yeah -- we've had that too. If he takes it out of his pocket and it falls out of his hand, he usually manages to catch it by the tubing. That "yank" as the pump drops will cause the "pump not primed" message.

    He just disconnects, rewinds/winds and then primes out a little insulin through the tubing, and he's good to go.
     
  13. Amy C.

    Amy C. Approved members

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    5,560
    I don't think there is anything off -- you want to be told if something gets out of wack. Pumps are not perfect -- they are only machines.
     
  14. Beach bum

    Beach bum Approved members

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,315
    Don't worry too much about it. Keep track of it if it happens multiple times so you can report it and get a replacement if needed, but generally as everyone says it's because something became a bit loose.
     
  15. BittysMom

    BittysMom Approved members

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    870
    That "yanked on the cord" thing struck a cord with me. I seem to remember catching it that way recently at bath time...

    I know it's just a machine, but like with airplanes, it's one I don't like to imagine failing in any way. Warnings are very useful though, yes.

    Haven't had any more issues, reloading/ tightening seems to have done it.
     

Share This Page

- advertisement -

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice