- advertisement -

Nursing Student looking for info on diabetes type 2

Discussion in 'Adults with Type 2' started by Cherry, Jan 18, 2006.

1. Cherry

Cherry New Member

Hi everyone,
    We are 3 nursing students from Douglas College in New Westminster, British Columbia who are looking for information regarding diabetes type 2. We were wondering if anyone would like to share thier experience about how their life has changed after they had been diagnosed with diabetes and how they are coping? Please feel free to e-mail me at filda05@hotmail.com. Thank you for your time and aiding us with our research.

2. molly

molly Approved members

I am currently a student at Wright State University Dayton Ohio and we are researching juvenile diabetes and how it affects the family as well. I actually do have some info for you for my mother is a type 2 diabetic and is noncompliant. Approximately 8 years ago she had emergent open heart surgery for two occlusions. Left main and LAD. She did very well post op except for some time her bloodsugars were labile. She attended cardiac rehab and lost weight, controlled her hypertension as well as her diabetes. Over time my younger sister had a little girl with mulitple anamolies and is trach dependent and my mom has really let herself go. I believe she is depressed and turns to beer for comfort. She does not eat properly, check her sugars regualarly or exercise. About a week ago she was admitted to the hospital for food poisoning and uncontrolled bloodsugars. I am hoping that this has opened her eyes to taking care of herself. As for the family, my sister is an exercise physiologist in a cardiac rehab, I am a nurse in CVRU and our inability to help the one person we want to help is out of our hands. My mom must decide to take control of her life and make some lifestyle changes. ie. exercise, diet, checking bloodsugars ac & hs, etc. We get very frustrated and continue to try to help. It affects our interaction with our mother for she is ver