advertisement

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newly Diagnosed

Discussion in 'Teens' started by Ashley-, Jan 13, 2016.

1. Ashley-

Ashley- Approved members

hi I'm Ashley I'm 14. i found this site on yahoo. I'm new to diabetes was Diagnosed last month on the 25. will love to met people who coped/are coping with it with like injecting or testing or whatever. & i don't know anyone who have diabetes.

2. MomofSweetOne

MomofSweetOne Approved members

Welcome to CWD, Ashley! That is one HARD diagnosis date, not that any are easy. My daughter is 16, diagnosed at 11. I remember how desperately she wanted to meet another kid with T1D in the early days. Now she has quite a group that "gets" it when her days are awful (like yesterday) or gives her graphs that look like D has disappeared (exceptionally rare). It's really good you're reaching out; both you and your parents will need support. We all do.

I assume you're on MDI at this point? Syringes or pen? My daughter did MDI for a year before switching to the pump. We added a cgm at one year. Back then, cgms were rare and she was only one of two kids at Children's who wore one.

3. rgcainmd

rgcainmd Approved members

Hi, and welcome to the club that no one wants to have to join. That being said, I'm happy you found this Forum! My daughter will be 14 this summer; she was diagnosed with Type 1 when she was 11. The two things that made having D easier for her (and me) were the Dexcom CGM and the OmniPod insulin pump. I highly recommend getting a Dexcom CGM as soon as you're ready, as it makes managing your blood sugars easier (it gives you get a number every five minutes, along with a trend arrow.) Anyway, welcome to the tribe! We get it!

4. Ashley-

Ashley- Approved members

MDI & on Syringes which i can't do. ever time i try to i get scared of the needle. i will like to do my own injections but don't see how i can.

5. Amanda e