- advertisement -

Newbie here and our first obsticle

Discussion in 'Parents of Teens' started by ShannonK, Oct 2, 2012.

1. ShannonK

ShannonK New Member

Hello, I had introduced myself on the "Parent's of children with T1" not realizing there are a Parents of teen board too.

We have our first obsticle coming up in a few weeks. My son has asking to join our churches youth group at 6flags in a few weeks. It's a all day trip 9-9 I want him to continue to do things like this and I know in the future I will feel more at ease with him doing them but right now being only a couple weeks into his dx I just can't allow him to go off for a whole day like that.#1 He's not good at counting carbs unless the actual carb count is right in front of him which y'all know places like 6flags won't have them. And #2 he can't take his supple bag on ride and will have to place it in those little cubbies. What if someone take it? And #3 I have no idea if anyone going on this trip has an knowlege of DT1 and what to do in an emergency. I'm just not ready and I feel horrible to tell him no. Sure I could go along but what 14yr old wants their mom following them around like that? Any advice on this will be appreciated.

2. Sarah Maddie's Mom

Sarah Maddie's Mom Approved members

I think you've presented some reasonable stumbling blocks but I think you need to see, one by one, if they can be mitigated to a point that you can, in fact let him go.

I'd call the director of the church group, find out how they plan to chaperone the trip, then see if 1. you can be a chaperone ( if other parents are doing so) or 2. could you train someone to offer to help your son in the event of a D issue.

You could ask your son to be mindful of what he's eating and come up with a carb cheat sheet for food that you think he'd be likely to have

Set up strict testing times and have him stay in contact with you via phone and text