- advertisement -

new

Discussion in 'Diabetes and College' started by jillybean, Mar 25, 2009.

1. jillybean

jillybean New Member

Hi, my name is Jillian, I've had diabetes for 8 years, and I'm a freshman in college. I've been having a lot of trouble lately keeping my blood sugars under control. I haven't been checking as often as I need to be either. I've been trying to fix it with my mom's help. I go to a new endo on Monday so hopefully she'll be able to help too. Has anyone else had these problems? Thanks all :)

2. Hollyb

Hollyb Approved members

Hi Jillian,

I'm an old mom, not a college student, but the daughter of a good friend of mine found the first year of college really tough that way. Everything is different -- your schedule, the food -- and there are a lot of new demands in addition to keeping on top of your diabetes. It's just an awful lot to juggle at once.

So yeah, I think it's pretty common (but still frustrating!) to have a setback in your level of control at first. But it sounds like you're already on the road to figuring things out, so hopefully you'll find next year a lot easier.

3. kierbabi09

kierbabi09 Approved members

Hi, Jillian. My name is Kiersten and I'm a senior in HS. I just wanted to say welcome to CWD.

4. jilmarie

jilmarie Approved members

Hi Jillian, I'm Jill :)

First, welcome to CWD. You'll find lots of information and support here.

I'm not sure what type of insulin regimen you use, but if you aren't on the pump, I would suggest looking into trying it. I finished college a few years ago, but I found that the pump gave me more flexibility during the unpredictable times of college life.

Good luck with your new endo!

5. OSUMom

OSUMom Approved members

Hi Jillian!