- advertisement -

New to the board, DD dx 11/2012, 3 y/o

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by beccalecca1, Mar 2, 2013.

1. beccalecca1

beccalecca1 New Member

Hi everyone! My dd was dx 11/2012 with T1D while in the hospital, at 3 y/o. This floored me because I'm a nurse, and I had a hard time dealing with not catching it before she was in DKA; but it all came on so suddenly I guess. Since her diagnosis she's handling it like a dream! We're using MDI, we had a malfunction with the Nova pen in the hospital and I'm more comfortable with knowing she is getting the proper dose of insulin.

I'm new to this board so I'm reaching out there for any pointers/tips on meals. When she was first diagnosed and taking insulin, she was gorging when it came to food. We'd count her carbs and limit them, but then she'd be hungry and crying in between meals so we'd give her free foods. She did this for about 2 weeks and now we have issues with getting her to eat any carbs. Since she's on both Lantus and Novolog, we try to get her to eat some carbs during meal time and it's always a fight. Anyone have any pointers out there? I don't want to get to the point of us giving her a sugary food item instead of her eating a better carb choice.

2. Yellow Tulip

Yellow Tulip Approved members

Hi Paige,

Welcome to the boards and I'm so sorry about your daughter diagnosis. You've come to the right place, with many knowledgable and caring people, though.

When your daughter was diagnosed, she was starving, since her body had not been able to use carbs for a while when the diabetes was developing. That's why she was so hungry. My son lost 10lbs. prediagnosis, and for a couple of weeks after he was diagnosed, he ate like I'd never seen him eat before.