- advertisement -

Need motivation...

Discussion in 'Adults with Type 1' started by Andrea, Sep 19, 2007.

1. Andrea

Andrea New Member

Hello all - I am 24 and was dx'd as T1D about 3 years ago. I was also diagnosed with high cholesterol about a year ago and after doing everything I could with diet (bc I really didn't want to be dependent on MORE medications) I went on Zocor about 7 months ago.

I have been pumping with Medtronic for about 2 years now and have always taken pride in how incredibly controlled my sugars have been. My last 3-4 A1C's have been around 5.4 with very few low rxns. My cholesterol has also fallen to below the recommendations for diabetics (sometimes I hate how we have our own category for that!). Anyway, despite how much pride i've always taken in my tight control, lately i have become very apathetic. I think i've just grown tired of it. I still have been doing well with my sugars - checking often and keeping them in control, but have been choosing very unhealthy, high carb foods and have gained about 15lbs. I have always been very thin and have never had to struggle with my weight, so this is VERY out of character for me. I sometimes feel that due to my good control & how 'easy i make it look' my friends and family don't understand just how difficult/frustrating/overwhelming it is to have such good control.

I find myself getting frustrated with other friends who complain about weight issues or trying to diet/exercise because it would be so much easier w/o insulin, carb, and blood sugar issues to deal with. ok, I'm rambling, but was just wondering if anyone else has experienced the same thing, and also if anyone has any words of advice for motivating myself to start eating healthy, exercising and losing weight again!! Thanks!

2. Isabelle's Mom

Isabelle's Mom Approved members

Hi Andrea,