- advertisement -

MDI question

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by MEVsmom, Nov 21, 2013.

1. MEVsmom

MEVsmom Approved members

We just started MDI this morning. In general, do you have different carb ratios for different meals or is it the same for all day?

2. mamattorney

mamattorney Approved members

We found that my daughter needed a smaller ratio (more insulin) at breakfast, but the rest of her meals and snacks were the same ratio. It's the same way with pumping actually - 1:10 at breakfast; 1:15 rest of the day.

3. Christopher

Christopher Approved members

Same here.

4. nebby3

nebby3 Approved members

We have 1:3 breakfast, 1:5 lunch and 1:10 snacks and dinner.

5. Megnyc

Megnyc Approved members

I have different ratios but a different trend than most. This is on a pump though....

12 AM- 6 AM: 1:24
    6 AM-11 AM: 1:28
    11 AM- 4 PM: 1:20
    4 PM- 12 AM: 1:14

ETA: I know I have no experience with MDI. I just wanted to post to let you know that their are people out there who need more insulin at night rather than in the morning even though I believe it is a bit unusual.

Last edited: Nov 21, 2013
  6. mom24grlz

mom24grlz Approved members

on MDI we had 1 ratio for meals. 1:15, this worked fine for us.

Now on the pump she normally has different ratios depending on the time of day, but they're not big differences. Example right now all her ratios are either 1:10 or 1:9 (tried 1:8 but she went low, and 1:10 she went high)

7. sincity2003

sincity2003 Approved members

We had 3 different ratios when my son was on MDI. We started with just one, then went to two, and the last week he was on it we went to three. he's also at 3 on his pump. 1:15 for midnight to 10am, 1:18 from 10am to 4pm and 1:10 from 4pm until midnight.

8. Heather(CA)

Heather(CA) Approved members

Different, In our case...YDMV

Breakfast is the most, lunch the least, and dinner is somewhere in between...:cwds:

9. MEVsmom

MEVsmom Approved members