- advertisement -

max bolus

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by C6H12O6, Aug 2, 2014.

1. C6H12O6

C6H12O6 Approved members

If you have set a max bolus and your carbs / correction have exceeded the max bolus what do you do ?

Is max bolus intended more as a safety feature where you set it as an amount that you would likely only enter by mistake ? I have thoughts on the issue because I have been pumping since 2005, but I was curious what other people thought.

I recall with animas it even has a max insulin in an hour feature where it would stop you from blousing if you reached that. I don’t even know if I remember the feature exactly, but that was even more annoying because there was no easy way to override it.

2. RomeoEcho

RomeoEcho Approved members

Mine has always been set for something ridiculously high that I would only ever enter as a mistake/is the max I think I could eat if it were an error. Very very rarely, I'll be high, sedentary, sick and binging simultaneously. Then I usually just do two boluses in a row. If it's the max basal I've hit, you have to change the setting. It happens so rarely that I think its worth the double check "are you absolutely sure you want to bolus 15 units with 2 u/hr basal? Or did you mean 1.5?"

3. MomofSweetOne

MomofSweetOne Approved members

I don't remember what I'd set it to, but I recently upped it on a high carb day that caused it to alert. But, it's a safety issue. I set it for a couple units higher than typical high.

4. C6H12O6

C6H12O6 Approved members

I don't really worry too much about the max basal, actually come to think of it it mine is set very high.

With animas I seem to recall it having a feature where you could reach a max from all source in the course of an hour, and if you reached it the pump would suspend your basal. But I am probably remembering that slightly wrong. I just remember it created an issue a few times, and I was too lazy to even go in and change the settings.