- advertisement -

managing children with diabetes

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by lillian0909, Apr 4, 2011.

1. lillian0909

lillian0909 New Member

Hi everyone,

My name is Lillian and I'm a student at the University of Queensland in Australia. We're currently conducting some preliminary research looking at ways to better manage children with diabetes whilst they're away from their parents.

We're at our initial stages of the project and would love to hear from parents/teachers of children with Type 1 diabetes with regards to the following questions to help us grasp better background. Any other comments would be greatly appreciated!!

Kind regards,
    Lillian

1. How do you currently monitor your child's blood glucose levels (BGLs) whilst they're away at school, camp or sleepovers?

2. What are the major difficulties with the current method of monitoring your child's diabetes whilst they're away at school, camp or sleepovers?

3. In what way could this process of monitoring your child be made easier for you and your child?

4. How often does your child monitor their BGL (at school)?

5. Is there a need for you to be able to know your child's BGL in real-time? Why?

6. What are the main difficulties that you face when sending your child to school?

2. Jeff

Jeff Founder, CWD

I've communicated with Lillian. Her post is fine.

3. txmom

txmom Approved members

Hi Lillian,

My son is 16 and manages his D largely on his own.

1) He monitors his own BG at school and when he is away on trips
    2) The biggest difficulty is worry that he is not testing often enough
    3) We are getting ready to move to a CGMS which should help him stay on top of his numbers
    4) My son tests 2-3 times a day while at school - unless he is having an abnormally low day in which case he tests as many as 8 times during the school day.