- advertisement -

Lantus vs. Levimir

Discussion in 'Insulins' started by tuckerk, Jul 26, 2007.

Tags:
  1. tuckerk

tuckerk Approved members

Hi,

I was so thrilled to discover this website. It is good to know that there are other parents who have the same questions. I am an Family Nurse Practitioner. This has been the hardest thing I have ever had to do. My daughter was diagnosed 4/2007 and like many other families, Caitlin's blood sugar has been all oer the place. We were started on Lanuts and Novolog pre-meal bolus. But recently, her endo changed us from Lantus to Levemir. Her morning BS are high (250-399). This is even if she did not have a bedtime snack. Help!!!!:confused:

2. Amy C.

Amy C. Approved members

First of all welcome. You will get a variety of opinions and will need to consider what will work for you.

It is my understanding that Levimir is given in two shots a day. I don't think it lasts for more than 12 hours. If your daughter is high in the morning, she needs more of the night time insulin.

Is she in range at bedtime and what is the BG in the middle of the night?

Last edited: Jul 26, 2007
  3. tuckerk

tuckerk Approved members

Thanks!

Cailtin has an endo appt. next week. I will definitely put that on the list.

4. tuckerk

tuckerk Approved members

Hi,

Her blood sugar is normally anywhere from 150-250. Since she has been on Levemir is bedtime is sometimes over 250. I have had to strat recently giving her insulin with the bedtime snack (if she is hungry)

5. Amy C.

Amy C. Approved members

It is hard to make a recommendation (which is all anyone can do) unless there is more data.

How long after dinner is bedtime? If the bedtime reading is within 3 hours of dinner, the high reading may be caused by not enough insulin at dinner, so you may have two problems.

When do you give the Levimir shot?

Is your bottle less than 28 days old? Old insulin may not be as effective.

Is she high at other times during the day?