advertisement

JDRF Children's Congress 2007

Discussion in 'Advocacy' started by Ellen, Aug 15, 2006.

1. Ellen

Ellen Senior Member

Children’s Congress 2007

The application for Children’s Congress is now available online at www.jdrf.org/cc07.

Please consider forwarding this link to families interested in applying to be a delegate for Children’s Congress 2007. Eligible applicants include children between the ages of 4-17 (at the time of the event) with Type I diabetes. All applications must be received by October 5, 2006. Sorry, but we cannot accept any extraneous materials for consideration with an application, such as letters of reference or video tapes.

All applicants will receive notice of their status in early January 2007. Children’s Congress will be held on June 17-20, 2007. Good luck!

2. dmconrad

dmconrad Approved members

Tell me a little bit about what is involed in the Children's Congress and what is expected of the children and the parents. I am new to this as my daughter was just diagnosed 3 months ago, she is 4 so I don't know how much she really would be able to contribute:)

thanks!

3. MoiraMcC

MoiraMcC Approved members

Hi--

I'm Moira and I was Chairmom of Children's Congress 2005. It's an amazing event -- kids from every state unite to call on Congress to help fund research for a cure for diabetes. It can be a lot on a little kid -- in fact at your daughter's age it would be more for you than for her. She's have a blast, but might not even remember it years from now. That said, plenty of little kids come (We try to split the age evenly from 4-17), The event goes like this:

Opening night dinner party -- kids all get introduced, Chairmom says a hello etc. Maybe an award or two presented to some Senators or the like.

Next day: Kids sing on Capitol Hill, the "Promise to Remember Me Song" Celebrities join them.

That night is a free night