- advertisement -

iBG Star Meter: Anyone Using It?

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by KarenRI, Aug 14, 2012.

1. KarenRI

KarenRI Approved members

If so, what do you like? Dislike? My son is asking about maybe getting one.

Thanks!

2. lizzie

lizzie Approved members

I've been using it for 2 months now and I absolutely love it! It is so helpful to be able to look at graphs, averages, and standard deviation without having to dig around to find a cord. I have noticed so many trends that I wouldn't have caught before. The only downside I have really noticed is that the case is kind of awkward shaped. It is a square and it is not quite long enough to fit the multiclix in. The lancer it comes with is your garden variety lancer that hurts more than the multiclix. You also have to make sure you refill your prescription a day or two before you intend to pick them up because most pharmacies don't keep them in stock. If you have any specific questions, I would be happy to answer them.

3. nanhsot

nanhsot Approved members

Is your insurance covering the strips? Last I heard no major companies were which influences my switching at this time.

4. lizzie

lizzie Approved members

My insurance, blue cross blue shield, is covering them. It took prior authorization but it wasn't a big deal. My endo claimed it would help patient, doctor communication to provide tighter control. Insurance approved it that day. However, when I called the insurance company before I got the script, they claimed they would not even consider covering them since it was a new product. They are tier 3 but there is a savings card that brings it down to $20.

5. Soccermom

Soccermom Approved members

I just spoke to our insurance company, Aetna, and they are covering the test strips.

6. KarenRI

KarenRI Approved members

Thank you!!!