- advertisement -

how does science work?

Discussion in 'Other Hot Topics' started by wilf, May 24, 2010.

1. wilf

wilf Approved members

Some posts in another thread got me thinking about this.

I am a natural scientist, and live and work with science every working day of my life.

To think or suggest that something is not true until it has been proven scientifically is a really odd way of approaching the world we live in. Something can be simultaneously true and scientifically unproven. For example it was always true that the earth orbited the sun, but it took science an awfully long time to prove it. Likewise, plate tectonics have been shuffling continents and oceans around since the earth began, but it took science a long time to really get around to understanding and proving that that was happening.

Likewise, it is really odd to suggest that if someone has repeatedly experienced that something that "works" that it is only "empirical evidence" and that that somehow invalidates it until science has proven its worth.

Science is built on empirical evidence. Hundreds and thousands and tens of thousands of observations, being sifted and checked and cross-checked with data analyzed this way and that by any number of scientists and researchers..

A quote from Wikipedia may be helpful here:
    "A central concept in science and the scientific method is that all evidence must be empirical, or empirically based, that is, dependent on evidence or consequences that are observable by the senses."