- advertisement -

Help with a teenager that's on his own.

Discussion in 'Parents of Teens' started by truck2ff, Sep 3, 2010.

1. truck2ff

truck2ff Approved members

This is long, bear with me. My son is 8yo and was dx last august so we're still fairly new to D. DS is pumping now (since June) and was on MDI when he was first Dx. I think we're doing a pretty good job managing his care and he amazes me every day, but something has come up at work and I've decided to intervene, but I'm struggling with resources and what to do next.

I'm a career firefighter and our department sponsors a group of FF Explorers that get FF training and do ride alongs on our rigs. They're good kids (16-20yo give or take) I met one of them through a family friend several years ago when he was about 16 and had just been Dx with Type 1. Well, he's 19 now and he's in our explorer group and showed up for a ride-along on our rig last week. He's at least 40 lbs lighter than when I saw him last. After asking around I found out he's been hospitalized several times in DKA over the last several years and I'm pretty sure he's not doing much for his care right now.

He really loves the FD and would love nothing more than to do this for a living, but at the rate he's going I doubt that he'll live that long. I managed to get out of him what kind of regimen he's on and I'm not that familiar with it. He has no real help in managing this, doesn't count carbs, seldom tests, and has no insurance and very little money for the supplies and insulin even if he wanted to do a better job managing his D.

He has no endo, because no one will see him without insurance. The last direction he got in his care was when he left the hospital several months ago. I confirmed his insulin, when he takes it, they have him taking 40U of Novolin-N and 40U of Humalog in the morning mixed and 40U of Novolin-N in the evening. How can this be?