- advertisement -

Have you sent your son (T1) to a day baseball camp?

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by cm4kelly, May 24, 2014.

1. cm4kelly

cm4kelly Approved members

I am a teacher and will be out of school for the summer in about a week.

My son is 7 and loves baseball. THe local high school is having a baseball camp during the day (9-2) for 4 days after school gets out.

I know he would enjoy the camp, but I don't think I would be able to leave him. Thinking that I would have to sit there for the duration. He does have a CGM and is pretty responsible, but I am not comfortable with all the heat and activity that he would be able to monitor himself. Since I am not working then, it wouldn't be a problem for me to stay and watch.

Has anyone had their child do a camp like this? Do you just stay with them? ANy other advice?
    Or should I just wait until he is a little older where he can monitor himself?

Thanks

2. sincity2003

sincity2003 Approved members

My son also plays baseball...and no, I've never left him. He is 9, almost 10. He will be doing a Saturday morning camp this summer, from 9-12, and I will stay in the stands and read or whatever.
    If you can, I would talk to the organizers and coaches that will be there and ask them if it's okay if you're around somewhere close, just so that he knows mom is available, but isn't right on top of him. From your signature, it appears he's been diagnosed for almost 5 years, but he is still 7, so I understand your concern.

Good luck and I hope he has a GREAT time!

3. Sarah Maddie's Mom

Sarah Maddie's Mom Approved members

Technically, if the school system is involved in this either leasing space to an outside group or actually running the camp I'm pretty sure they cannot discriminate and that means training staff to help him be safe. You may not want to go down that path, but I'm just saying.