- advertisement -

H-Tron Plus user, warranty almost up... looking at choices and needs info! :)

Discussion in 'Insulin Pumps' started by Dawnhulio, Feb 6, 2007.

1. Dawnhulio

Dawnhulio New Member

I have been using a Disetronic H-Tron plus for almost seven years (St. Patricks Day, as a matter of fact...) Got the folder from them in early January because my pump is close to it's end of run time and technical inspection... in which case it won't be replaced due to the release of their Accu-Check pump.

Have spent a lot of time talking to diabetic acquantainces and my endo who all said the following:
    *they haven't recieved prompt, if any, follow-through or returns of calls made
    *Accu-Check isn't necessarily 'known' for it's accuracy in regards to their GM items...
    *and my endo couldn't believe they weren't just going to replace it, seems 'forced'.

Now, I have gotten along pretty well with the H-Tron but had problems with water entering the pump and several replacements (FDA issued it's statement that the pump could no longer call itself such in 2003, I think); this was a pain in my you-know-what as I canoe and swim like a fish... hate being disconnected from it!

My endo, CDE, and friends all mentioned either the Animas or the Cozmo... and I have two nice packets of info from both that I've read through. I also have a pack from MiniMed but have decided to not go with this system as my insurance will not cover the equipment for the CGM. (They laughed... '$35.00 per site, every three days? $1000 for the transmitter, every 9 months or so? That will be an out-of-pocket expense'). eek...

My understanding is that the Cozmo receives free upgrades when the technology is updated, which I think is a GREAT feature... but I also dig the fact that the Animas has the food 'library' and you can program it with some popular music. Function-wise, I think I would get along with either for basic programming.