- advertisement -

Freestyle Lite errors

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by frizzyrazzy, Sep 5, 2011.

  1. frizzyrazzy

    frizzyrazzy Approved members

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    14,141
    This is a new one - we're using lot 1168873 and we're getting ER3 about once every 5 strips or so. Twice just now. All my boxes are the same lot, so I can't test, but it's been happening in 3 different boxes so far. And just to be sure, I tried a new meter and it's still happening.

    Anyone else see an uptick in these lately?
     
  2. Flutterby

    Flutterby Approved members

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    14,623
    Did you check the battery?
     
  3. frizzyrazzy

    frizzyrazzy Approved members

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    14,141
    yeah, two different meters, two different batteries.
     
  4. Sarah Maddie's Mom

    Sarah Maddie's Mom Approved members

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    12,521
    Nope, but we don't have any from that lot. Sounds like you have a long and potentially aggravating phone call in your future :rolleyes: Good luck!!
     
  5. frizzyrazzy

    frizzyrazzy Approved members

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    14,141
    omg! I know. I hate calling them. I know exactly how it's going to go:

    Me: I seem to be having a lot of trouble
    Them (reading from script): Ok, lets make sure you're doing the blood glucose test correctly. I will now walk you through the process.
    Me: I've done about 10 checks a day for the past 6 years, I think I know how to do them correctly.
    Them: but if we don't do this I cannot file a report and I can't talk to you.
    Me: fine
    Them: please poke your finger
    Me: but I'm not the one with diabetes
    Them: then I can't help you out if you won't do this
    Me: but I'm not checking my blood glucose, these are my son's strips. He has diabetes
    Them: well lets check with him
    Me: but he's at school.
    Them: Ma'am, if you're not going to cooperate then I can't help you.
    Me: look, I have a drawer full of strips, all the same lot, all of wchih are giving me an error.
    Them: have you performed a control solution test? Let me walk you through the process.
    Me; ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR
     
  6. Sarah Maddie's Mom

    Sarah Maddie's Mom Approved members

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    12,521
    LOL! Yup, that's your Tuesday!:p
     
  7. lynn

    lynn Approved members

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,112
    Hmmm, we had a can that gave us a ton of E3 too! I finally threw the rest of them away yesterday because I was so tired of it. We had three in a row! I don't know the number and the next one we opened has been working fine.
     
  8. swellman

    swellman Approved members

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3,544
    Well, you could shorten that up a bit by stating up front that the unit is for your son who is at school but you have control solution.
     
  9. frizzyrazzy

    frizzyrazzy Approved members

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    14,141
    of course I could. :rolleyes: That was just a silly little tirade based on past experience with Abbott's customer service [sic].
     
  10. frizzyrazzy

    frizzyrazzy Approved members

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    14,141
    well, about as unhelpful as I expected. But they are sending me two new meters because they just don't think it could possibly be their strips.

    Whatever. I'll give the new meters a try even though I'm using a new meter, and I told them I'm using a new meter...and I'm sure I'll have more errors with the rest of these strips.
     
  11. Becky Stevens mom

    Becky Stevens mom Approved members

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    8,719
    Steven's Freestyle lite meter screwed up the night before the hurricane hit:rolleyes: I kept trying strips and it kept giving me an error 4. I called Abbot and yep, went through the whole shpeel with the guy. He told me to try a strip from a different lot, of course they were all from the same lot and had been working fine up until then. I love what the instruction book says when you try to troubleshoot. Could be a problem with the meter. Could be a problem with the test strip. Call customer service:rolleyes: They did send me out a new meter when they could get a Fed ex truck down my road:)
     
  12. frizzyrazzy

    frizzyrazzy Approved members

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    14,141
    I just LOL on their assumption that for 6 years we've apparently had no trouble doing a test but suddenly we're doing the test wrong and that is what is giving us the error. That was how they acted. Alternate that with the attitude that I got from the rep that we were somehow just looking for free meters. WTF.. I am this close to being done with abbott once and for all.
     
  13. Becky Stevens mom

    Becky Stevens mom Approved members

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    8,719
    Oh I know! I got the same impression. He read his script and had me do the control solution test even though I told the young man that any time I put a strip in it would beep and show me error 4 immediately. I had to explain that I couldnt very well do a control test if it wouldnt stop beeping at me:rolleyes: Then he asked if there was blood in the port where you stick the strip. How the heck would blood get all the way in there I wondered!?
     
  14. Sarah Maddie's Mom

    Sarah Maddie's Mom Approved members

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    12,521
    LOL, really? And where would the fun in that be??:rolleyes::rolleyes:
     
  15. mocha

    mocha Approved members

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    430
    Are the strips you're using the new ones (as I call them, the "zippy" strips) that they keep advertizing on TV these days? I've been getting a lot of E3's with those.

    I've been trying to make sure that when I pull the strip out of the vial, that I only touch the edges (not the part that goes into the meter and not the parts that take in the sample) and this seems to have reduced the number of errors, but I'm not entirely sure if it's me being extra super careful or if it's the fact that I've gone through so many that this new vial doesn't have the problems.
     
  16. frizzyrazzy

    frizzyrazzy Approved members

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    14,141
    yes. these are the ones. The newest strips (I call them butterfly strips) but they're the newest ones with the skinny blood collection area.

    I am not happy to hear you're seeing more E3's but happy that I'm not the only one who has noticed it.
     
  17. virgo39

    virgo39 Approved members

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,691
    Although those scripted customer service interactions drive me bonkers, my sister, who works in computer support, has made me more sympathetic to them!
     

Share This Page

- advertisement -

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice