- advertisement -

For the love of god...(A vent)

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by CaitlynGrisham, Feb 6, 2013.

1. CaitlynGrisham

CaitlynGrisham Approved members

I have been a student at UC, Santa Barbara for a little over four months now. I love it! However, student health leaves a lot to be desired.

I made an appointment to get a referral to an actual endocrinologist outside of the UC Campus, because I wanted to get a more professional opinion on my pump, CGMS and such. On the website, it listed a woman as a go-to for a diabetes consultation and appointment. I made the appointment, and I went in.

First of all, the nurse who took my blood pressure decided that she was going to put the cuff around the arm that currently has my site in it. I made it clear that I was not having that (politely!), and she said: "Well, I don't see why I can't just take it from that arm, but okay." What?!

I actually got into the appointment, and this woman asks me some initial questions, starting with "How long have you been diabetic?" I replied with thirteen years, and she just stared at me after saying "Wow, that's a really long time." She then asked me: "How do you control your diabetes? Are you using a diet and exercise regimen?" To which I replied with the fact that I am on insulin and that I use an insulin pump as part of my care and control.

This woman proceeded to ask me what an insulin pump and CGMS are. I had to explain this concept to the diabetes consultant. She continued to think that an insulin pump was a surgery that people got; I tried to explain it further, but she moved on.

She asked me how often I test, and I told her than I test between 10-12 times per day, depending on what I'm eating, how much activity I have going on, if I'm having a particularly volatile day, etc. Her eyes practically bulged out of her head, and she said: "Wow, that's a lot. You don't need to test that much. Try for 3-4 times a day. You're going crazy!"