- advertisement -

For parents with preschool/early elementary school kids using pumps

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by Haleymom, Mar 4, 2014.

1. Haleymom

Haleymom New Member

I'm a newbie here (Hi!), so we're in the very early learning stages of living with diabetes. My daughter is 5, was diagnosed in mid-December 2013, and will begin Kindergarten this coming fall. We are all very interested in getting her an insulin pump (she is also very interested), and wondering what pump folks here are using for their younger children? What factors most influenced your decision? Thank you!

2. roo'smom

roo'smom Approved members

What I would do is contact the rep for each of the pumps that you're interested in. Set up a meeting with them so that you and your daughter can hold the actual pump, and play around with the screens and menus. All of the pumps will do the same thing - deliver insulin. It pretty much boils down to which one you and your daughter feel the most comfortable with. One of them may be more intuitive than another for you; it's really all personal preference. Good luck!

3. Mish

Mish Approved members

yep. This. 100%.

to the OP: When we selected our first pump the primary consideration, after playing with all of them, was how easy or hard it was to navigate the screens. That's really what it came down to.

4. lmf1122

lmf1122 Approved members

I agree with PP to look at all the pumps (and have your daughter look at them too) before you make a decision.

My DD was 6 at diagnosis and started on the Animas Ping
    about 7 months later. I think it was a good choice because of the meter remote. DD liked to wear dresses at that age and it was easy to bolus her with the remote, rather than having to pull up her dress to get the pump out of her pump pouch.

She recently started using the t:slim, which we also really like, and has a lot of features that are nice (site change reminder, temp basals can be set in 1% increments, etc.)