- advertisement -

Does anyone "Celebrate" Diabetes Diagnosis Day?

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by lbwahle, Jun 4, 2009.

1. lbwahle

lbwahle New Member

Does anyone recognize their child's diagnosis date each year? I am looking for a creative way to look back and remember and see how far we've come each year. Any ideas? Or is this just not a good idea to do??

2. jcanolson

jcanolson Approved members

We've never done anything, but I remember reading a couple posts about families who take toys to donate to the children's hospital on D-day.

3. Kalebsmom

Kalebsmom Approved members

We celebrate it. We have only had one anniversary so far so I am no expert at it. We just went out to eat and I made a cake with Kaleb's favorite frosting. The whipped kind that his favorite bakery uses. I wrote something on the cake but it is not something I should say here.

I think for most, it is a very personal decision on to celebrate it or not. For us, we celebrate the fact that we made it a year. In the beginning a year seemed like forever away. We also celebrated how far diabetes care has come. The celebrated the fact that he has a wonderful diabetes team. We in no way celebrated the fact that he has had D for a year, it was really about how far we have came.

4. kiwimum

kiwimum Approved members

We do not celebrate the Diabetes, but we do celebrate a successful year and how far we have come.
    We allow Tyler to choose a restaurant and we go for dinner. We are all allowed to choose ANYTHING we want off the menu and usually involves the dessert that sends our eyes rolling and our hearts a-flutter!!:eek::D
    We try to be as relaxed about the carbs as we can be without being neglectful. It usually results in a terribly high bg when we get home, but we deal with it and move on.

We laugh about our mishaps and mistakes and reflect on the good times when things have gone well.
    It is a day for us to be thankful that the diagnosis saved his life.