advertisement

Diagnosis in college

Discussion in 'Diabetes and College' started by Megnyc, Oct 9, 2013.

1. Megnyc

Megnyc Approved members

Was anyone here diagnosed with diabetes while in college? Do you have any advice on how to support someone who was?

2. mmgirls

mmgirls Approved members

No.

But as a mom in college, I guess the advice would be dependent on what type of college student they are? What type of support they have? Do they have the basic supplies.? Do they understand their daily care?

3. TheFormerLantusFiend

TheFormerLantusFiend Approved members

I was in college- it was right before my sophomore year that I was diagnosed, and I got out of the hospital the night before the fall quarter started.

But I was a commuter student. I never lived in the dorms, and part of the time I lived with my family and for some of the time I lived on my own (really on my own, not with friends).

My vision was kinda screwy for a couple of months after I was diagnosed. It fluctuated really rapidly as my eyes changed back. I talked to somebody in the office of students with disabilities and that was helpful. I talked to all of my fall class professors about it and sat in front to try to see stuff.

I rented a locker for my sophomore through senior years, to keep extra supplies in, mostly. That was really helpful. I was kind of put out to discover that my glucagon was gonna be no help whatsoever 'cause nobody was gonna use it- oh well.

I had had trouble with my summer courses 'cause I was falling apart at the end and I flunked one because I didn't turn in my final paper 'cause at that point I was a mess. I retook the course in the fall and the professor was really understanding- I got an A the second time around.