- advertisement -

Diabulimia

Discussion in 'Surveys and Studies' started by hugforme, Mar 16, 2008.

1. hugforme

hugforme New Member

Hi everyone! I'm a graduate student in clinical health psychology (and fellow type 1 diabetic) and I"m writing my dissertation about "diabulimia" which is a new phenomenon where people with diabetes will intentionally under-dose (or omit) their insulin to help lose weight. I'm still designing my research study and I was wondering if anyone had input about the kinds of questions I should be asking. As parents, friends, and loved ones of those who have diabetes, what would you be interested in learning in regards to this phenomenon. Thanks so much!

2. Ellen

Ellen Senior Member

It's nice you're pursuing this very important topic. Know, however, this is not a new phenomenon. I recall nearly 20 years ago sitting in a diabetes support group when a teen in the group talked about how she learned at diabetes camp, some years back ,she can lose weight by omitting insulin.

It would be interesting to know what comments were made by family/friends that may have triggered the onset of the diabulimia as well as the triggers that reinforce the behavior. Did the patient have an eating disorder prior to diagnosis? Does anyone else in the family have an eating disorder? What symptoms can parents and loved ones look for determine whether or not their child/loved one is intentionally omitting insulin for weight loss? Is the patient purging in any other way besides omitting insulin?

Those are just a few questions.

p.s. If you're interested, I found the following while doing a potential lit review on the subject and can send it to you in pdf (it's 156 pages)

Female Type 1 Diabetics with Eating Disorders: Purging by Insulin Withholding
    by Maureen B. Riley

A thesis submitted to the faculty of the college of nursing in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the degree of
    Master of Science in Nursing

Florida Atlantic University