advertisement

diabetes and Child Protective Services

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by YJC, Aug 16, 2012.

1. YJC

YJC New Member

Hello Everybody.
    I am a Social Worker from California. I am here "off the clock" to learn and develop better social work practices for families who live with diabetes. In the county I serve, there are few resources and little knowledge regarding the complexities of diabetes. I have become the informal "County Diabetes Social Worker." Unfortunately, I did not receive any training specifically for diabetes and social work.

I work at a Child Protective Services. While many people have negative views of CPS workers, I am not here to judge or criticize anyone. I am passionate about developing an effective and helpful model for our families. I am here to learn from your expertise, if you would be willing to help me. I would like my county to have a better understanding of family safety and well being when they are affected by diabetes.

If you have opinions, suggestions, criticisms, etc. about CPS issues related to Diabetes, would you post them here?

Many children with diabetes come into the child welfare system because of medical neglect by their parents. CPS may initiate an investigation. CPS may petition for Court ordered services for the family. What does that mean to you? What does CPS "help" and "support" mean, vs. CPS "policing" families? If a CPS worker could help a family, what help might be asked for? What should child welfare workers know when working with families with diabetes? What do you think medical neglect for children would look like?

Even if you have no experience with CPS, I welcome your opinions.
    Thank you for your thoughts.

2. sooz

sooz Approved members

I have no experience with CPS but I do live in California. First, I would like to thank you for coming here to seek information, and for doing what at times must be a horrific job in order to protect children and to help families.