- advertisement -

Dexcom Questions

Discussion in 'Continuous Glucose Sensing' started by funnygrl, Jun 10, 2014.

1. funnygrl

funnygrl Approved members

I've been using Medtronic CGMS on and off since 2007. Now I'm making the jump to Dexcom tomorrow hoping for a larger range and improved accuracy. I have two questions.

1. Does the Dexcom let you set different ranges for day and night? Or different time periods? I like knowing if I'm going about 170 during the day, but don't like being woken up until 250 at night.

2. Can you silence alerts for a set time period? Sometimes I get a bunch of false low alarms and this is the only way to stop me from throwing it out the window.

2. sszyszkiewicz

sszyszkiewicz Approved members

Good luck with your Dex!

1. No
    2. You can set the alerts to stun (it just shakes). You can set a snooze of up to 300 minutes for both high alert and low alert. I think though if it thinks you are 55 or below it will not quit and be loud. The only time we have problems with false lows is when DS sleeps on the sensor. I jostle him around a little, get a fingerstick, calibrate, and it gets back on track within 20 minutes.

3. hawkeyegirl

hawkeyegirl Approved members

1. No. And as a former MM CGM user, I really miss that feature.

2. No. There is no equivalent to the alert silence feature that MM has. I miss that too.

You'll love the Dex, though. So much less fussy.

4. funnygrl

Thanks for the answers! I just watched the training videos and have another question. How far apart should the initial two calibrations to start the session be? Can you do them just like 10 minutes apart to get the show on the road?

5. funnygrl

That's what everyone says, even the CDE at my endo's office!

6. sszyszkiewicz

After sensor startup (it takes 2 hours). You do 2 fingersticks and enter both numbers right then.