- advertisement -

Daughter newly diagnosed and first scary low!

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by sey76, Feb 25, 2017.

1. sey76

sey76 Approved members

My 8 year old was diagnosed with type 1 about 3 weeks ago. Of course at the beginning her numbers were quite high and then finally about a week ago she started honeymooning. We've been going to the education sessions and learning lots. Her scale has decreased significantly due to her lower numbers. Luckily I work in health care and have been dealing with type 2 patients for a long time. This however is VERY different. The devil is in the details I am finding. Yesterday we were out for dinner (first time out of town for the night since diagnosis) I underestimated how much walking we had done I think and also made the terrible mistake of giving her her insulin dose prior to dinner being on the table. She is very good at detecting a low sugar and actually asked to have it checked while eating her pasta. It was LOW. 2.7 low. (Canadian) and was actually disoriented. She was able to take her own sugar but was in a complete daze. I of course over treated. 2 packs of rockets and the restaurant brought over apple juice. We got it up, took longer than I had wanted but likely time stood still and I couldn't wait 10-15 minutes to recheck. Anyway, it was a very scary scene and I am not used to it at all. My other daughter has a peanut allergy and I am used to having all the medical supplies with me. But have never had to jump to action with that before. I did have everyone on that we needed and feel very lucky that she was able to eat because I feel we were very close to that not being able to happen and would have had to use glucagon. Anyway, needless to say I did not sleep very well at all last night and will likely not sleep well tonight. She was absolutely fine about 30 minutes later back to her regular self. It just really is so very scare that they can get that way so fast. Just needed to vent I