- advertisement -

Celiac and diabetes?????

Discussion in 'Celiac' started by DonnaMM, Nov 11, 2011.

1. DonnaMM

DonnaMM New Member

Ok so I have not been diagnosed with diabetes but I was diagnosed with celiac about a year ago and I am getting nervous about some new symptoms that I am having. When I get my blood checked which is every three months or so (and I always fast 12 hours) my glucose is between 90-110. My FBS use to be about 50-60. I am also having problems focusing on like clocks or other distant objects. I have also been eating so much it's like any food I eat is absorbed right away and I have hunger pains like no other. I also drink a lot more and pee like tens times a day and up about three times a night to pee. My endo who I see for my thyroid does not seem concerned but I am. I know there is a correlation between type 1 diabetes an celiac ( i am 24) do you think I should push the issue thanks!

2. pianoplayer4

pianoplayer4 Approved members

I'm not a doctor or any thing, but I would sugest you buy a cheap meter at a drug store and test yourself a couple times, like two hours after you eat, that sort of thing. if you find that your numbers are high then tell your doc, if their fine then enjoy your peace of mind. by the way I" don't think 110 is very high, you really should be under 100 but if you were a little sick, or stressed then it would raise your bg a bit.

3. Caldercup

Caldercup Approved members

For a fasting blood sugar number, the 110 is on the high side of normal, but it is close to normal. I'd do as already suggested and get a blood glucose monitor and begin testing my morning FBS, as well as my BGs one and two hours after eating.

Taken from WebMD.com:
    Blood glucose Fasting blood glucose:
    70-99 milligrams per deciliter (3.9-5.5 mmol/L)

2 hours after eating (postprandial):
    70-145 mg/dL (3.9-8.1 mmol/L)

Random (casual):
    70-125 mg/dL (3.9-6.9 mmol/L)