- advertisement -

carb factor for homemade bread

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by Mouchakkaa, Nov 28, 2011.

1. Mouchakkaa

Mouchakkaa Approved members

I used the carb factor of .48 for a thick slice of homemade bread (just got a bread machine, love it), but it just did not seem right. The bread weighed, I think, something like 184 g. So that would have been carbs of 88. This seemed way too high so I only bolused for 44. She was fine for the first three hours, but then bg's went into the low 200's. I did give her a correction but three hours later she was still sitting in the low 200's. I ended up giving another correction and this finally brought her down. I have never done an extended bolus for bread before. Do you think I should had done the full 88 and extended it over 6 hours?

2. ecs1516

ecs1516 Approved members

I make homemade bread too. I just weight it in grams and half that weight is what I count in carbs. Seems to work for us. But, I grind my wheat(from bread beckers) so that makes it contain lots of fiber.

3. nanhsot

nanhsot Approved members

I use a standard factor of .50 (which amounts to half, as the pp said) and it works well. I used to make a CF for every type of bread I make but they all came to be around .50 so now I just use that!

If you notice a high a few hours later I'd definitely extend the bolus the full amount. I can definitely see a thick slice of homemade bread at 80 carbs, homemade bread generally doesn't have the rise of regular bread so it a lot more dense (and yummy!).

4. AlisonKS

AlisonKS Approved members

we always use .5 too

5. mom2ejca

mom2ejca Approved members

Like Nancy I worked a carb factor for many kinds of homemade bread and always came out close to .5 as well. We estimate other bread type foods based off the .5 carb factor too. So homemade garlic bread I would round down to .4-.45 to account for butter weight or a sweet dough with glaze I would round up to .55-.6.

6. swellman