- advertisement -

Calling all experts!

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by TimO, Feb 20, 2010.

1. TimO

TimO Approved members

Is there any chance we'll see a non-invasive glucose monitor? My little boy's fingers look like a warzone, and d would be so much easier if we could simply pass a monitor over the skin and check real-time blood glucose. I know I'm dreaming, but wouldn't it be great to be able to do finger pokes as many times as we want by waving an infrared monitor over the skin? The pessimist in me knows the pharmaceutical companies make billions on strips, so this won't be a reality. However, I read a year ago that a group of scientists in Hong Kong had supposedly developed a non-invasive blood glucose monitor that was over 80% accurate, then never heard another word about it. I guess they got a big check from "somebody" to keep their new technology quiet. (Sorry, having a pity party today)

2. timsma

timsma Approved members

I'm no expert, but my son was diagnosed at age 2 and is now nearly 16 so he's had his share of finger pokes over the 14 years. So while I have years of experience, I don't know the answer to that. I used to hope for the same thing though, and have found that we only have our son poke his finger a couple times per day now that he is on the Navigator. It's so accurate that we finally let him stop checking so often and we dose by the readings the cgm gives him. We couldn't do that with the MM cgm though. It was WAY too inaccurate to trust for us. So while there isn't an ifrared system out there yet, there is something that can reduce the number of finger pokes available (at a price though of course).

3. swellman

swellman Approved members

I haven't been to an "urgent care" clinic in a while but I went recently and one of the things they did was put an O2 sensor over my finger. The first thing I thought of was "can they make one of these for glucose?".

Last edited: Feb 20, 2010
  4. Flutterby