- advertisement -

1. Lisa Marie & Alyssa

Lisa Marie & Alyssa Approved members

I'm so mad today. Why?!?!?! Why does my baby have to have this disease? She deserves the world, not diabetes. She should have so much more than this. I just feel so helpless! I want our normal life back, for her, for me, for our family. I'm ready for this to be "normal". I thought we were on the way there but I guess not. I'm tired of people saying "she will be fine". Oh really. you can guarentee that diabetes won't take a toll on her body?
    Sorry, it's just been one of those days.

I think it's time for a margarita.

2. ShanaB

ShanaB Approved members

Big hug. It's not fair and it's not easy. Be kind to yourself, she was only dx'd a couple of weeks ago. I'm still new to this (only 3 months in) and still have my bad moments but I'm happy to say I am now living the new normal as if it is just that, normal.

I really understand that people mean well and a lot of the time they don't know what to say but "she will be fine" is dismissive and not very helpful. Please know that you have friends here that understand and won't dismiss your fears.

Drink that margarita and enjoy it!

3. sam1nat2

sam1nat2 Approved members

go have a nice cold marg:D

I would encourage you to look up and see how many people ARE successful despite the D. There are very inspiring, influential people who happen to have D. For me, its nice to see how people go on, despite the obstacles they face. Not to discount your feelings, I'm just saying that for ME, it helps to take a step back.

As for the toll it takes on your dd's body, I like to think that for us, it has forced us to lead a healthier life---all of us. We know the effects of exercise and of junk food on the body. Life is much better for Sam when he eats better and gets exercise. Yes, its taken this for us to realize it more, but we do nonetheless

4. chkpea

chkpea Approved members