- advertisement -

basal needs up then down?

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by lamb, Oct 4, 2010.

1. lamb

lamb Approved members

My DS was diagnosed in March of this year and has been on the Ping since June. I was pretty confident that he was coming out of honeymoon for the past few weeks. He was running higher numbers consistently throughout the day. We tweaked ratios and increased basals and then had a wonderful week with excellent numbers. I know it takes a couple of days to "verify" a pattern, but he has dropped low three times today. It was just a normal day. Oh, and I say normal VERY loosely. Our "new normal with diabetes" shall I say. No new exercise, same types of food, etc. Is it possible for the basal needs to bounce up and down like this for a bit?

2. lauraqofu

lauraqofu Approved members

I'm no expert, and I'm sure others who've been at this longer will chime in, but it's hard to give accurate advice without knowing how old your ds is, what his insulin regimen is.

What I've learned in the short time we've been dealing with this is that as soon as you're comfortable and everything seems to be running smoothly, something will change and you'll be chasing crazy lows and stubborn highs with no idea of what caused the change. Since, after all, insulin needs can be affected by illness, hormones, stress, temperature, activities and the alignment of the planets on any given day:rolleyes:.

How old is your son? I assume he is MDI, but what is his "normal" insulin intake?

3. lamb

lamb Approved members