- advertisement -

Anyone else Homeschooling?

Discussion in 'School and Daycare' started by foxa71, Apr 21, 2011.

1. foxa71

foxa71 Approved members

For two years I tried working with the schools. I volunteered because they have no nurses on site. I made sure I was there for lunches because I don't trust the office receptionist to give my child the right insulin. I even got a job as a yard duty to make sure I could be there for my daughter at recess. As parents, we shouldn't have to worry as much about our kids getting treatment for their diabetes. One day, I went to get her insulin from the office and they didn't have a key or know how to access her supplies. What if she needed a glucagon shot?

Forget the worrying, now I homeschool. I've been homeschooling for three months now and truly enjoy it. She goes to 4 extra curricular workshops a week where I help out in the classrooms. I'm hoping they let me homeschool my autistic son soon. Right now they won't because they say he's below grade level reading, but he has an IEP. Very frustrating.

Anyone else decide to home school their child(ren)?

2. nanhsot

nanhsot Approved members

We homeschooled way before diabetes entered our sorry little lives. :D Finishing up our 9th year actually:eek: . I teach science in a co op locally and my son attends college prep classes once per week.

We're in it for the long haul, my son will be homeschooled 3rd-graduation and my daughter from K-graduation, God willing.

I LOVE homeschooling.

3. StacyMM

StacyMM Approved members

I half-homeschool - one kid is homeschooled and one kid is not ;)

DS (non-D) homeschooled K-2 and is now in 3rd grade at the local school. DD homeschooled K, tried one semester at the local school and returned to homeschooling in January.