- advertisement -

Animas users: do you use the food list/ database???

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by mmgirls, Aug 2, 2012.

  1. mmgirls

    mmgirls Approved members

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,030
    we never have but wondering if it is easy to customize it for carb factors???

    thinking for school surprise treats?
     
  2. Charliesmom

    Charliesmom Approved members

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,472
    We never really have. I think I tried a couple times but it was a pain.
     
  3. sarahspins

    sarahspins Approved members

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,205
    Nope.... when I first got my ping it seemed like too many foods used units of measure that just don't make much sense in the real world. You can't for example put in 4oz of apple.. it expects that you just want to eat an average small apple, and if you have a large apple (or slices), you have to figure out (by yourself) how many servings of their arbitrary measurement your apple is... you can't simply put in a weight.
     
  4. mom24grlz

    mom24grlz Approved members

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,799
    we've never used that feature. But i'm pretty sure my nephew uses it on his ping. I don't know how easy it is to put in carb factors but I know SIL has put in the carbs for my nephew's favorite foods.
     
  5. MomTo4Girls

    MomTo4Girls Approved members

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    We haven't used it yet but have only had the pump for 2 weeks. Our CDE said she has never seen anyone use the custom food lists.
     
  6. nanhsot

    nanhsot Approved members

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,626
    Nope, but then he doesn't use the meter remote either!
     
  7. DsMom

    DsMom Approved members

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,700
    This seemed like a neat feature in theory when we first got the Ping...but we've never used it either.
     
  8. Tigerlilly's mom

    Tigerlilly's mom Approved members

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,492
    I thought it was going to be a feature we used all the time...but it is a pain, and just adds to the button pushing so we don't use it.
     
  9. GaPeach

    GaPeach Approved members

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,218
    Nope - never really use it. DD has a great memory for her favorite foods. She guesstimates well on anything different.
     
  10. ecs1516

    ecs1516 Approved members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    7,028
    Nope, we only used the carb database while on the Cozmo. It was easier to use. We really don't need it much anymore.
     
  11. Beach bum

    Beach bum Approved members

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,315
    Yep, that's our feeling too.
     
  12. zoomom456

    zoomom456 Approved members

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    340
    I input the daycares entire menu into the food database. The staff find it faster and easier to use the paper copy I provided.
     
  13. GaPeach

    GaPeach Approved members

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,218
    I'm sure that this is a wonderful feature for caregivers who need carb counts provided. Much easier than writing it down all the time.
     
  14. mmgirls

    mmgirls Approved members

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,030
    wow someone that actually uses it!

    So I have a question for you, do you think it is possible to enter carb information in by carb factor. IE serving size would be 1g and carbs in 0.??? format.

    IE bread weighting 50g

    I would dial up 50servings and at .5 per serving it would calculate 25carb?

    Or strawberries weighting 50g
    I would dial up 50 servings and at 0.08 per serving it would calculate 4 carbs?
     
  15. kiwikid

    kiwikid Approved members

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,011
    I read this as the staff find it easier to use the PAPER copy, than the database. :confused:
     
  16. zoomom456

    zoomom456 Approved members

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    340
    Just to clarify, the daycare prefers to use the paper copy provided. They can add up carbs faster on the calculator. The food database just takes too many button pushes.

    ETA - I spent hours putting in a menu that is not used. It is not easy to enter that many foods.
     

Share This Page

- advertisement -

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice