- advertisement -

Advice to parents for newly diagnosed children

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by Cords, Jan 13, 2013.

1. Cords

Cords New Member

Dear All,

My child (8 years) has recently been diagnosed with diabetes Type-1 and wanted to know what advice you could give to help! especially the problems i will face e.g. finding best foods, calorie counting etc for my son.

Im also a student at University studying computer science so i used this situation to start building a mobile application to help parents with newly diagnosed children (as my dissertation).

If you have any advice for me, or app ideas please, please help both me and others. Thank you so much! Cords

2. Sarah Maddie's Mom

Sarah Maddie's Mom Approved members

I would suggest you just focus on learning how to manage your son's health right now and leave developing an application for sometime when you've got a grasp of the matter.

No need to count calories, it's carbs you will be counting. Ragnar Hanas' book, "Managing Type 1 Diabetes" is my favorite reference for new parents. Any recent edition will do.

3. Beach bum

Beach bum Approved members

The first year is a whirlwind, with the first few months being overwhelming. My advice is listen and learn, and make notes about what helped you. Then down the road apply this to building an app.

As for calorie counting, you don't. Carb counting, you do. Calorie King is great. There is an app, website and book. Best foods, well, as long as you had a healthy diet before, keep doing it. You can still do treats, but as it is for all of us, in moderation. If you can supply more info as to what your regimen is, then people can chime in to help on snacks (if you are allowed 15g free or carb free or low carb snacks).