- advertisement -

504 Meeting

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by austin_calebs_mom, Oct 2, 2009.

1. austin_calebs_mom

austin_calebs_mom Approved members

The principal at my son's school called me this morning and we will be having a meeting to set up Caleb's 504 on October 9 at 1:30pm. What do I need in order to be ready for this seeing as how I've never done this before?

Is it going to prevent a 504 from being established since we don't have a local doctor or, as the school nurse said, proof of his diagnosis from a doctor here in MI?

2. StillMamamia

StillMamamia Approved members

3. JenniferM

JenniferM Approved members

4. BrendaK

BrendaK Neonatal Diabetes Registry

Call your local ADA office. Our meeting is this Monday, the 8th and the ADA has been unbelievable in helping me prepare. I have 3 people working on Carson's case and one is coming with me to the meeting as an advocate. (We are meeting with a lot of resistance and ignorance from the school.)

Anyways, the ADA has been a lifeline for me! Good luck!

5. hawkeyegirl

hawkeyegirl Approved members

If they try to claim that you need proof of his diagnosis from an in-state doctor, I would act politely surprised and ask them to show you where the law requires that. They won't be able to.

Other than that, I have no idea what to tell you. Our first 504 meeting is next Thursday. Good luck!

6. selketine

selketine Approved members

That's great - if not a bit soon - LOL!

I would go to the ADA website and read as much as you can there on the "school discrimination" section. I don't think you'll have time to get the packet from the ADA but make sure to call them and request it.

I think on this page about 1/3 of the way down under the heading:

NEW! Americans with Disabilities Act Amendments Act (Effective January 1, 2009) Information and Tools